Subscribe Now
Trending News

Blog Post

Sports

Ancer penalized two shots for misstep in bunker 

Abraham Ancer unknowingly touched the sand with his club before making his third stroke on the 15th hole from a greenside bunker on Thursday and was assessed a two-stroke penalty following the first round of the Masters.

Ancer had originally signed for a 73 and exited the scoring area. But video was reviewed by Augusta National’s rules committee for a possible breach of Rule 12.2b(1), which states that touching the sand in a bunker behind the ball results in a penalty.

Since it was deemed visible to the naked eye, a penalty was assessed. Had it not been visible, Ancer would not have been penalized.

Ancer expressed his disappointment over the penalty on his Twitter account.

“I was just informed that I have been assessed a 2 stroke penalty for unintentionally grazing the sand in my backswing on hole 15,” Ancer wrote. “While I’m gutted, I can’t wait to get after it tomorrow.”

Ancer’s score on the par-5 15th went from a 6 to an 8. He was even par for the round at the time and ended with a 75.

Source link

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *